Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

Very versatile, high quality (2017-08-26)
All the warmth, breathability and sophistication of a woollen sweater, with the casual nature of a hoodie. What’s not to love? You could literally wear this with anything, it dresses up and down amazingly.The wool material is thick, but you could still fit it under a winter coat.My only gripe is the buttons, they look/feel cheap. I don't know if this is supposed to reflect the time period, but I replaced them as soon as I got mine.

Harry - Canada
Immensely pleased - great quality (2017-05-09)
I LOVE the cardigan sweater! It's a good heavy wool and really looks like those in photos of the Punitive Expedition and Great War era. It will keep me warm as well as looking the part. I wish I'd ordered one of these much earlier!

Callaham - US
nice wool, fast delivery (2017-01-08)
fit as I expected, nice woolen cardigan.

Grieb - US
Excellent Product (2016-11-07)
The shawl sweater is an excellent product. I wear it at work during the winter, and love it. I have received multiple compliments from coworkers. Also, excellent price; better then sweaters that are twice the cost. Lastly, shipping is very fast. Will most certainly be purchasing from WPG again!

Pigott - US
Amazing quality! (2016-10-24)
Let me start by saying I am blown away by the quality of the sweater. The old cliché, "they don't make things like they used to", is usually true in most cases. The qua\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\lity of this sweater is every bit as good as some of items I inherited from my great uncle, who was a WWII P-47 pilot.I am approx. 5'11", 170lb with a 40" chest, and usually wear a size medium in most of my sweaters. I opted to size up to a large, per suggestion of many of the previous reviewers. It does fit with a little room to spare, I'm a little curious how the medium would have fit because I like my sweaters a little more snug, but I'm happy overall.

Welch - US
good deal (2016-10-12)
The upper button placement is not what it looks like in the pictures on the website, but otherwise it's a great fit, color, and weight. I ended up adding another buttonhole and moved the loop up about 3" - now it's perfect!

Shurtz - US
Good quality, looks great (2016-10-09)
Very happy with the sweater. Looks very good and the quality is great, super fast delivery

Kauserud - NO
WPG delivers quality again (2016-09-30)
As per usual with WPG, my sweater arrived very promptly in excellent condition. The knit is tight and thick, and feels like it will wear well and last a long time. It should be handy for this fall and winter. The buttons seem firmly attached, but I may order some leather buttons from WPG to replace them, just as a matter of taste.

The fit is good, I'm 5'7" with a 36" chest and the small fits well in the shoulders and across my body.

Langlois - US
happy (2016-08-11)
great sweater, though a button fell off within 2 minutes of unpacking it.

jm - CA
Awesome (2016-03-01)
Shipping was fairly quick. The sweater is great. I plan to upgrade the buttons. The first two people that saw it in public complimented it. It's a bargain. I'm a 44 suit jacket and I ordered an XL. Fit is very good on me.

Weaks - US
Shawl Cardigan (2016-02-13)
I ordered up a size as per other's advice and am happy I did so. The cardigan is great for the value - I chose the green one which is less olive and perhaps brighter than the picture - and I think the biggest improvement to be made is the buttons. I got the colour of buttons pictured for the white cardigan, but either way they are very cheap looking. Leather-wrapped buttons would be nicer, and worth paying a bit more. The sweater is pilling for sure, but again, great for the price.

Brandon - Canada
Shawl neck Sweater (2016-01-18)
Read reviews and comments. Ordered up one size and I am very happy. Wish you had a brown option!

Jack - USA
classic cardigan with shawl collar (2015-11-23)
Very very fine, but the sizing is a bit odd. So I bought two. One (XL) is fit and on the shorter side ( below the belt)and I will wear it as a cardigan. The other (2XL) is much longer and loose and I'll wear it as a jacket.

Bouchaud - FR
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2015-10-24)
Great sweater.

Baffa - US
Fantastic (2015-09-17)
The sweater is flawless. I bought one size up and it fits perfectly. The package was promptly shipped and arrived unbelievably fast. This is the second order I've placed with WPG - it definitely won't be the last!

Rolfe - CA
wool shawl collar sweater (2015-09-01)
high quality! very impressed! will buy again!

TK Yuma - US
cardigan (2015-01-14)
well worth the money but they do run a bit small so order up a size or two

joe - phila pa
Very Happy (2015-01-14)
Great value, very happy with the quality of the wool and craftsmanship. Great gift idea for hard to please cranky old men like me.



Flaten - US
Great Sweater (2014-12-24)
Just received this sweater and a same type sweater from Duluth Trading Company on the same day. The Deluth sweater cost US $169.50 and I have to say the WPG sweater fit, material and looks are just as good if not better. I liked the sweater from WPG so much that I just ordered the other color today. I normally wear a 2XL but needed to go up to the 3XL for a nice fit. The WPG sweater length is perfect to wear under my Indy style jackets. The Deluth sweater is being regifted to my Father........

Swiger - US
The Best Sweater I Own (2014-12-11)
This is easily the best sweater I own. I normally wear large (5'10, 170 lbs), but bought an XL based on customer reviews and it fits perfectly. It's a really warm, sturdy and undeniably unique sweater at an amazing price. I'll be buying more WPG sweaters soon!

Rolfe - CA
Satisfied Customer (2014-11-26)
I normally wear a large, but in 100% wool I opted for a XL. It just fit so I exchanged for a XXL. The exchange was quick and hassle free. The XXL fits me perfectly with anything from a t-shirt to a shirt and vest. I ordered the olive, in indoor lighting it looks brown but outside it is olive. I could not be more pleased with the quality and look forward to getting lots of use from this garment! WPG not only offers great military items, but garments such as these for casual wear.

Kaffenberger - US
Shawl collared cardigan (2014-07-29)
This cardigan is pretty on the money and quickly becomes a favourite. I'm a slight build 5'6" and the medium was perfect. If I could change one thing I would add one more button hole where the collar loop is to close off the chest and move the loop higher up the shawl so that you could stand the collar up and secure it against the cold. At present the upper chest feels open and exposed to the elements, but this is something I'll probably do myself anyway.

Tesoriero - AU
Perfect (2014-07-28)
This sweater is of stunningly high quality for the price. The wool yarn is uniform in color, texture, size, in a tight, even knit and strikes a perfect balance between softness and ruggedness. Try finding a heavy wool men's shawl collar cardigan anywhere, much less one of this quality, without paying several hundred dollars. I'll be getting one or two more as gifts for family as the holidays roll around. I couldn't recommend this sweater more highly. A brown Lee-Marvin-in-The-Professionals version would be welcome!

Simmons - US
Sweaters (2014-03-22)
Sweaters are great, but the sizing chart is way incorrect. I ordered 3XL. They won''t fit a fit a 5,11 man at 72". Must have been made for little guy?

Dan O''Connor - Arizona
Shawl Collar Cardigan (2014-02-23)
This is my second, I got the cardigan in olive a year ago and was enormously pleased with it. Highest quality wool, very comfortable. This cardigan and WPG''s M1911 sweater go on the "garments every man should have" list.

Philip - GB
Yup, I Love It (2014-02-05)
Most sweaters don't appeal to me because they have absolutely no character. This one is different. It has "old school" class. When I wear it, I feel like I just stepped off a WW-I submarine or troop transport ship, especially when I wear it under my pea coat or trench coat.

As for quality, this sweater is outstanding. It's thick & heavy, and looks like it's true to the clothing typical of the early 20th century.

My sweater arrived with NO foul smell (lucky break?) but if yours does smell weird, that's normal for clothing of this type! Consider it a mark of authenticity and perhaps quality, then wash it off by hand with a gentile soap for sweaters.

I sized in as a medium on the charts, so that's what I ordered and it fits perfectly.

Johnson - US
Cardigan (2014-01-26)
Fits true to ( European ) Size, I wear Size 42 Jackets an ordered a L. The Collar loop fits to deep !!! On the WPG website photo he is right.

Rueegg - CH
Easy Fit (2013-12-30)
I've always worn a medium in off-the-peg shirts, etc. Then fat people got offended that they were large or larger, now, what used to be called 'medium' is now worn by the fat and formerly 'large'.
That sort of reasoning wasn't necessary with this sweater. I got a medium and it fits. I'm 5'7", 145lbs, 31 waist, 38 chest, 18" shoulders and 22" sleeve (from the shoulder).
This fits perfectly and there's enough sleeve to roll back a cuff at least 2.5 inches wide.
I got the off white, and did the smell test with no noticable odor.
And it arrived in a few days.

John - US
Cardigan Sweater (2013-12-27)
Excellent. Sizes do run small that's why I ordered the XXXL very nice item as with the roll top sweater.

Guidobono - US
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2013-12-27)
I've been wanting this sweater for awhile and my wife got me one for Christmas. I am completely happy with the sweater, fits perfectly and is well made. You will not find a better deal on a 100% wool sweater. WPG has done a great job again.

McCleaf - US
Wool Cardigan (2013-12-23)
Heavier, and better quality than I expected. Some 'fiber pilling' but that's not unusual with wool. The OD color medium was a perfect fit for me, 42" chest, 15"X32" shirt, 5' 9", 145 lbs. ~ and it's delightfully warm! Some wool knitters believe a shampoo like Pantene, with cold water is superior
to regular laundry products. I've used the shampoo on GI wool blankets, sweaters, shirts etc., with great results.

Larry - CA
Wool (2013-12-23)
Heavier, and better quality than I expected. Some 'fiber pilling' but that's common with wool. The OD color medium was a perfect fit for me, 42" chest, 15"X32" shirt, 5' 9", 145 lbs. ~ and it's delightfully warm! Some wool knitters believe a shampoo like Pantene, with cold water is superior
to regular laundry products. I've used the shampoo on GI wool blankets, sweaters, shirts etc., with great results.

Larry - CA
shawl collar sweater (2013-12-22)
It was TERRIFFICC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All your stuff is the BEST quality!!!!!!!!

John - US
Shawl cardigan (2013-12-12)
Great sweater, great fit, sized up one size to a size L and it worked perfectly. The sweater does shed its wool fiber excessively so if you have even the slightest sensitivity to wool it may be tough for you. I soaked mine the hung it outside in the wind hoping to blow it free of shedding but it didn't work. We'll see what happens over time

Justin - US
cardigan sweater (2013-12-10)
The sweater is great quality,style.Reading reviewers comments was a big help I take XL but went 2XL as suggested got a little extra room,fits great.Was asked by two strangers where I got it. One was a very cute college coed like I said GREAT sweater.Shipping was very fast,I had problem with address,my fault.Warehouse personnel solved it right away,this is a great company and I rank them with Amazon reliability and excellent customer service.Just ordered GI sleeveless OD sweater.Maybe I'll run into that coed again. Thanks WPG H.Sisk Virginia USA

sisk - US
5 (2013-12-08)
everything is fine

Weinert - DE
GREAT Sweater (2013-12-05)
Despite some of my criticism of other items, this is probably one of the BEST values that Jerry offers! Great fit! Well constructed! Suitable for a variety of living history or casual purposes. Buy one while they're still like this and at this price!

Mihlon - US
Shawl Collar Sweater (2013-12-03)
It''s no surprise to me that, once again, What Price Glory have come up trumps. This sweater is outstanding and exceptional value for money. I''m 6 foot 3 inches tall and a 38 chest. Normally I take a medium but sizd up to large for extra length and it''s perfect (enough length on sleeve for a roll). UAE to Hobart, Tasmania in 3 working days. Amazing service. I''ll be back.

Damien - Tasmania, Australia
cardigan sweater (2013-12-02)
Just received my sweater xxl perfect fit I wear a46 jacket and slight gut large shoulders it fit perfect over a wool shirt.Glad I read reviews. Arrived fast,problems on my end with address company was great in solution.Best business I''ve dealt with in a long time great service,prices and product Thanks H. Virginia USA

howard - Virginia USA
OD OFFICER''S SWEATER (2013-11-26)
I PURCHASED THIS IN OD 3XL AND AM VERY PLEASED WITH IT. LIVING IN MONTANA, MY PRIMARY USE IS AS A HOUSE SWEATER. IT IS VERY WARM AND COMFORTABLE, IN FACT I CAN ACTUALLY TURN DOWN THE THERMOSTAT AND SAVE ON FUEL BILLS! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND SIZING UP AS I DID FOR ADDED COMFORT/FIT. I NORMALLY WEAR 2X AND WENT WITH 3X IN OD GREEN. IT FITS ME FINE AND HAS THAT VINTAGE LOOK RIGHT OUT OF THE 1920''S - 1940''S!

JOHN - MONTANA
Nice vinatge look racing sweater (2013-08-26)
The reviews helped me a lot in making a decision. WPG did a great job in allowing this.
First off I love vintage clothing and secondly I''m picky about it.This sweater is a fantastic reproduction of the old ones worn during the 20''s to 40''s. They look great with a news boy cap r fedora. With some knee high boots you''ll be stylin''! I body build. My chest is 42" with a 32" waist. I have big shoulders and arms. If this is your size buy with confidence. I was worried at first about this, as it''s hard to buy clothing as you get bigger.I don''t say this to boast, God forbid I should boast save in the cross...but to instill confidence for the next buyer.I got an extra large. it''s perfect! I have room to wear a shirt and tie,(1920''30''s look..haha)and move about in it with total ease.A very comfortable, and very handsome sweater. I got the cream ( off white .Fast shipping,( I live in VANCOUVER BC) and excellent customer service.( I asked for size differences in XL and 2xl). I ''m 5'' 8" and the sweater length just past above my waist, and ended between navel and groin area, which was perfect.Even if it didn''t you can still portary the war years look as they had to conserve material and made it shorter. I compared this look( past waist) with the ones in old photos of vintage 1930''s catalogues, and the length was the same. I was in the film business, and this sweater is very period looking! I love the extra ''bonus'' i got with the sweater: a nice wool smell!Hope that doesn''t go away!Excellent sweater for the vintage 1920 -30''smotorcycle race, US GI,and 1920''30s sportman''s look! Definitely a must have for your winter wardrobe. Unless you can afford the original, get this! I gave 4 stars coz if I made it I would like the cuffs to be more tighter ( as in the original 30''s ones) , so it will give it a sleek look.
Buy, wear, and give with confidence!

Chi - Canada ,Vancouver Bc
Most excellent! (2013-08-14)
Scent: Normal wool sweater scent. Excellent.
Fit: My sportcoat/suit jacket size is 52. 3XL size for this sweater fits great. If you're 50/52 in a Harris tweed, for instance, I'd go for the 3XL in this sweater.
Quality: Fantastic! What a sweater. As someone else mentioned on this site, if it had a Ralph Lauren nameplate on it, this sweater would easily be $400US.
Accuracy: The exact same sweater as Lee Marvin wore in THE PROFESSIONALS. The exactness and accuracy is phenomenal.

I strongly recommend this sweater for anyone in high desert country, anywhere in the world, and anyone who lives where winter meets mountains.

Mike Tucker, Author of 1931, Hell Is Over, RONIN, and SPARTACUS DID THE RIGHT THING

Tucker - US
Sweater (2013-07-18)
Very pleased ! Compares favorably in fit and finish to originals I have in my collection. Wool is nice and stout as it should be. Collar is that great vintage shape and buttons up fairly high towards the collar bone as period ones do. Could pass for a 1920s Varsity sweater. If Ralph Lauren were selling this he'd slap his logo on and charge 400+.

Leonard - US
Cardigan Sweater (2013-06-27)
This sweater is exaxtly as promised and just what I wanted!!'

O''Connor - US
Old School Sweater (2013-05-16)
this sweater is awesome! sadly, it is getting warm here in chicagoland,so I won't really be able to enjoy it for many months. Glad I bought it. Fits perfectly!

Maniatis - US
Pretty Sweet! (2013-04-29)
Very nice, though I wisely chose a size one up from what I normally wear.

Blum - US
Cardigan Sweater (2013-04-09)
Another great piece of WPG knitwear for the chilly spring we''re having! I''m very satisfied with this cardigan, it is made of very good, heavy wool, but still very soft and comfortable. I wear a jacket size 42, ordered a large and it fits perfectly. Highly recommended!

Phillip - GB
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2013-04-07)
I choose the white Cardigan Wool Sweater in XXL, it seems like a XL.
It is OK however, but shorter than usual cardigans. This sweater is an excellent item in good wool. It was a pleasant transaction and a very quick shipping. I am very happy with this purchase at WPG and would buy from again.

sorlin - FR
Great value (2013-04-04)
I have rarely seen such a quality in knit except in the sweaters made before the 1960's. I wanted to have shawl cardigan for the rest of my 1920's/1930's wardrobe and I didn't find any better anywhere else. Fits smaller, so as I am a S, I bought the size M. Perfect fit, high quality, great price.

Cazal - DE
excellent (2013-03-10)
superb quality and finisch! Really love it! Again Jerry beat price with amazing product! You should get one! I wear 42 so I ordered large according to size chart. Fits perfect!

Marcin - BE
[1 2 3]