Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

Irvin repro gorgeous (2012-02-17)
I''ve had my WPG Irvin reproof jacket for two winters now and I love it. Looks great, feels great, super warm. Only issues are the zippers. Main zip is hard to pull up and the left wrist zip is broken off so I''ve sown it closed. I wear scrubs to work and this jacket keeps me toasty warm. Now if only WPG would make the matching pants my backside wouldn''t freeze on the leather seats!

Mike - New Jersey
UK flying jacket (2012-02-09)
I have received my UK flying jacket today.look great,fit great,and beautifuly made.
Jean-luc

Jean-luc - France
RAF Irvin Jacket (2011-12-22)
I thought long and hard before purchasing my WPG Irvin,as I own an original which I don't want to risk damaging with frequent wear. I wanted a good replica,and compared all the major brands for a copy which is both wearable daily and also visually accurate enough to incorporate into my collection of historical RAF kit.
I don't myself think anyone can(really)claim to make a perfect WWII copy,as there was much variation in wartime production. The WPG offering is very close to the jackets produced by the Warings firm during the mid-war period.
These jackets have all the visual impact of an original.The outside colour is a perfect match.The fleece colour is very close as well.
The workmanship on mine is very good,with none of the negative points made ny some.Everything is nice and tight.The only reservation I could possibly make has to do with the front zipper,which is a little bit flimsy,but at ONE THIRD the price of a replica from any of the big three I'll admit this is a mute point.
These jackets are lighter than those made by "the big three",but the vast majority of people won't be wearing them at 25,00 feet,and they are indeed very warm,and don't need breaking in.They are also wearable for longer in the year besides the season of deep cold.
Sizing is also very accurate. Getting one size up to accomodate a sweater or uniform is a good idea(with a WPG submarine sweater you will be set for anything and look like you stepped out of a time capsule).
My only regret I have is that I should have got mine sooner.It was delivered from Dubai to the west coast of Canada in one week.I've only worn it one day and already have had people walk up to me on the street and compliment me on it,and I,ve told them all if they want an Irvin,it's a no brainer,the WPG version is very good value,it's money well spent,and I'm VERY happy with it.
WPG.I salute you!




Jacklin - CA
RAF Sheepskin Jacket (2011-12-09)
It got here a lot quicker than I thought it would. The quality is great, the fit is great. Now it just needs to get cold enough in Central Texas to wear it.

Strauss - Texas
Excellent (2011-12-08)
Great reproduction and super fast delivery. Better than the Avirex Irvin I owned once. Size-wise, I'd say it is true to size. Having said that, if you do want to wear a sweater beneath, I would order one size up, but why would you? Number one, the whole getup would be very bulky, and number two, you'd roast. If you want my advice, get your correct jacket size and just wear a shirt undeath. You will be warm!

Morton - US
RAF Irving (2011-12-03)
jacket is top quality and perfect in nearly every detail...service was perfect and shipping was lightning fast

hodge - US
great deal (2011-12-01)
jacket just came..perfect in every detail and not a stitch out of place..was meant to be for Xmus but it won''t be going back in the box I am going to start wearing it right now....

alan - NC/USA
Mister (2011-11-16)
Ordered wrong size and misread instructions on an exchange procedure. WPG performed very well and the replacement fits and looks good. I am very satisfied with this transaction

Shepherd - US
Great RAF Flying Jacket (2011-10-26)
I called WPG and as many others have said they recommended going one size up to wear over a sweater which was 100% correct, some reviews have complained about poor quality but I was pleasantly surprised, it is excellent, the design, (RAF 1942 pattern), sheepskin, (the weight is ideal--not super thick like some companies), zips, stitching, buckles--all surpassed my expectations!

Looking forward to some cold weather here in the Mid-Atlantic to give it a workout, the more this jacket is worn--the better looking it will get, thanks for a quality product WPG.

Z - US
Irvin jacket (2011-10-07)
Always wanted one of these! Great price and a fine jacket. I don't have any complaints at all - I love it! The fit, the color, the pile are all what I was hoping for. I debated between this and Jerry's B-3 and am glad I got this one. (Although I do see a B-3 in my future!) For the first time, I can't wait for winter to get here now! I was on the fence for a few weeks over buying this. Don't be - it's a great purchase, and was here lightning quick too.

Laplander - US
Tally Ho! (2011-08-31)
Received my RAF jacket today. As always, I''m very impressed by the speed of delivery (much faster than local mail...). I ordered one size larger as recommended, and it fits perfectly! It''s heavy, soft and VERY warm. And WOW! that enormous collar wraps around my entire head! No more wind-bitten ears!!! For once,I''m almost looking forwards to the Norwegian winter... My only concern is that it feels SO soft, I''m worried it might tear easily, but time will tell. Anyway, it looks great with my submarine sweater! Now I only hope WPG will start making the sheepskin trousers that were used with it, and an RAF leather helmet to complete my "Biggles"-look...

Are - Norway
irving jacket (2011-08-24)
hi ...happy with the jacket ...i'm about a 42 chest and ordering one size bigger as recommended by other reviews worked well as i recieved a 44 jacket and it is about right ...price and shipping and quality are very good ...pleased with the purchase thank you

pardell - CA
size (2011-08-22)
Hi! Im a size 38 chest. how big does the size 38 come up, is it quite roomy, and do you do a smaller size!cheers

edward - london
irvin flying jacket (2011-08-20)
excellent reproduction at a great price.another winner from WPG.fast delivery to the UK as well.

attew - GB
Mr (2011-05-12)
Great service great products,keep up the good work

talbot - AU
Not the quality it used to be? (2011-05-11)
This is my 3rd WPG Irvin, I gifted the first two. I must say that this one''s quality is below the first 2. The zipper is very bad, and the stitching is very much off sometimes, and there''s even a little gap in the fur line of one of the sleeves.
However, it''s still a great jacket for the price and the shipping was incredibly fast.

Greg - Budapest
RAF Irvin (2011-04-17)
An outstanding copy and good value for the money. As many have stated, its lacking in detailed appointments, but the shearling pile seems closer to an original than an Eastman I once had purchased, circa '94.
The speed of delivery is amazing.
I would suggest that WPG could offer an 'all up' accurate Irvin if they chose to aspire to greater detail, with the attendant price point increase.
Perhaps, a 2 panel Battle of Britain '38 pattern, with the finest attention to detail. I would imagine these folks could produce it, as their sheepskin is spot-on. Recommended!

Capt. Bob - USA
Irvin Jacket (2011-02-25)
It is astounding at how fast the jacket was delivered. The shipping service from WPG is second to none.
I really like this Irvin jacket and feel it is comparable to the original wartime issue jacket as well as to the Eastman, Aero Leather and Aviation Leathercraft jackets in it''s appearance. I actually like the feel and the freedom of movement allowed by the WPG jacket better. The exterior finish is closer to the actual issue jacket than the other three major manufacturers of reproduction Irvins. The fit and look is also proper. My only negative observations would have to do with the belt buckle which should be made of brass and nickel plated instead of a painted cast metal buckle and, though very minor, there were a few areas where the sewing was not as good a quality as one would have liked. Having said that you must realize that these jackets are indeed only 1/3rd of the price of other similar jackets so you can not expect the top of the line quality you may expect of a very expensive Irvin. Still Quality Control should be picking up such problems before they leave the factory. I have seen four WPG Irvin jackets and all four had some stitching issues somewhere on the jacket that needed to be repaired.
Overall I would still recommend the WPG jacket to anyone who wants a very wearable and quite accurate RAF Irvin jacket as long as you bear in mind it will need some attention.


Steve - Canada
Irvin Jacket (2011-02-25)
It is astounding at how fast the jacket was delivered. The shipping service from WPG is second to none.
I really like this Irvin jacket and feel it is comparable to the original wartime issue jacket as well as to the Eastman, Aero Leather and Aviation Leathercraft jackets in it's appearance. I actually like the feel and the freedom of movement allowed by the WPG jacket better. The exterior finish is closer to the actual issue jacket than the other three major manufacturers of reproduction Irvins. The fit and look is also proper. My only negative observations would have to do with the belt buckle which should be made of brass and nickel plated instead of a painted cast metal buckle and, though minor, there were a few areas where the sewing was not as good a quality as one would have liked. Having said that you must realize that these jackets are indeed only 1/3rd of the price of other similar jackets so you can not expect the top of the line quality you may expect of a very expensive Irvin. Still Quality Control should be picking up such problems before they leave the factory. I have seen four WPG Irvin jackets and all four had some stitching issues somewhere on the jacket that needed to be repaired.
Overall I would still recommend the WPG jacket to anyone who wants a very wearable and quite accurate RAF Irvin jacket as long as you bear in mind it will need some attention.


Pajot - CA
UK RAF Sheepskin Flying Jacket (2011-02-15)
Thank you WPG for a very speedy delivery and a great jacket. Leather is nice and thick, color seems correct, zippers are sturdy. It is small in size so follow the advice given.

Ryden - SE
MR (2011-02-09)
First class service and product some of my pals are going to send for one also after seeing mine

bailey - GB
a customer very amazed (2011-01-24)
after a very fast delivery I'm going up to the
mountains Alpes for the weed-end and I keep myself in warm conditions whith 10 minus zero ! I make again nices rambles in Queyras Valley through the winter nature between 1500 and 2000 meters. The WPG Irvin jacket is a very good product for all aspects and the maintain of this myth cloth alive! .
Thanks for the quality of your work

Santarelli - FRANCE
Irvin (2011-01-23)
Very good copy, thanks WPG!

Zand - NL
Irvin Jackets (2011-01-05)
is a little bit lighter in sheppsking quality because my soon have owned one last winter and it's more heavier and better quality than the one i have recieved.

jean - FR
Fabulous jacket (2011-01-05)
More people have complimented this jacket than I can remember. The cute girl behind the counter at my fitness club told me how great I looked and asked me if it was a Burberry. Not bad for a 53 year old! I told her no, it was a What Price Glory. The quality is outstanding and it is VERY warm. Probably the warmest jacket I have ever owned.

Mark - Chicago, IL
RAF Irvin Flying Jacket (2011-01-04)
Fantastic jacket!What more can I say.Easy to wear and pleasure to own.Thanx again Jerry.Let's keep in touch.Sincerely,Pertti

Neumann - FI
Irvin (2010-12-31)
Love the jacket...at least as good as the Aero that I used to have and cost less than half as much

Sjostrom - US
RAF-Sheepskin Flying Jacket (2010-12-20)
Great jacket for a fraction of the cost. Looks and feels like the real thing, including the color. I ordered a size up from my usual size 44R for a better fit. WPG has one hell of a deliverly system--considering it came from a warehouse in the Middle East, it came faster than items ordered locally from other companies.

Waszak - US
UK RAF Sheepskin Flying Jacket (2010-12-19)
Whilst growing up in the UK/Eire and Australia, my family knew quite a few pilots of fighters and bomber aircraft and I was practically raised on the dareing do tales of the RAF.
I had always wanted one of original Irvin jackets like my earliest heros wore.
Fast forward another 35 years or so and after my own military adventures I end up in Texas of all places with my American wife. Nostalgia creeps in and I remember my desire for an Irvin, but it's hard justifying purchasing a Jacket one can only wear for about 2 months of the year here in Texas.
Imagine my surprise when I discover that WPG has this excellent reproduction for a fraction of the cost. So, I took the plunge and ordered one after reading the reviews.
The jacket exceeded my expectations and it's arrival coincided with a nice little cold snap here in the Lone Star State.
My only complaint is DHL, whilst the jacket made it from Dubai to the DFW area in just three days(very cool tracking it on line - I can honestly say that my RAF Jacket was in the air over Germany!). Unfortunatly to get it just 20 miles from the DHL terminal to my house took an additional 50 hours of waiting. It was on the delivery truck for two days before the courier "had time between his pickups" to drop it off.
I will echo everyone else's suggesstion, buy a size larger than what you normally take. I take between a 42 to 44 depending on the cut so I ordered a 46 and it hangs the way it should on my 6ft, 185 lb broad shouldered frame.

Hackett - US
SECOND GENERATION IMPROVEMENT! (2010-12-16)
SEVERAL YEARS AGO I HAD PURCHASED AN EARLY VERSION OF WPG'S IRVIN JACKET AND I WAS IMPRESSED BY THE QUALITY AND DESIGN OF THE JACKET, ESPECIALLY THE PRICE WHEN COMPARED TO AN EASTMAN OR THE US WINGS REPROS. WELL I HAD LOST THAT JACKET A YEAR AGO THROUGH CARELESSNESS. RECENTLY I HAD BEEN CONTEMPLATING IN SAVING MONEY FOR AN EASTMAN 1942 PATTERN RAF IRVIN JACKET BUT DECIDED TO SAVE MONEY AND AGAIN PURCHASE A WPG MODEL. WELL I MUST SAY THAT WAS ONE OF THE BEST DECISIONS I'VE MADE! I LOVE THIS JACKET SO MUCH THAT I HAD PURCHASED TWO WPG IRVIN'S IN SIZE (40) WHICH IS A PERFECT FIT FOR A (5'8) PERSON. GENTLEMAN THIS IS AN IMPROVEMENT OVER THE EARLIER VERSIONS! LET ME EXPLAIN.
THE EARLIER VERSION'S USED WHITE METAL (CHROME COLORED) METAL HARDWARE FOR THE WAISTBELT BUCKLE AND THROAT RINGS. THE ACTUAL SECOND WORLD WAR IRVINS USED SOLID BRASS. THESE NEW MODELS HAVE CORRECTED THIS ISSUE AND ARE NOW SOLID BRASS! THE WAISTBELT IS ALSO MORE SUBSTANTIAL MORE HEAVIER.
THE EARLIER WPG IRVIN USES A DARKER BROWN SHEARLING SIMILAR TO THE PRE-WAR JACKETS. THE SECOND GENERATON USES MORE OF A GOLDEN OR HICKORY BROWN SHEARLING. IMAGINE MY SURPRISE WHEN I FIRST SAW THESE JACKETS THEY LOOK JUST LIKE THE 1942 PATTERN RAF ISSUE IRVIN'S BECAUSE OF THE COLOR. AS A MATTER OF FACT I HAVE A TIME-LIFE MAGAZINE PHOTOGRAPH THAT WAS DONE IN COLOR DURING THE SECOND WORLD WAR. THE PHOTO SHOWS AN RAF AIR CREW CLIMBING INTO A BRISTOL BEAUFIGHTER AND BOTH ARE WEARING 1942 PATTERN IRVIN'S IN THIS SAME COLOR!
THIS IS BY FAR EXCELLENT VALUE FOR THE MONEY! BUY THEM WHEN YOU CAN! BUY TWO IF YOU CAN!

GREGORIO - US
WWII RAF Irvin jacket (2010-12-11)
Like many who have commented here, I took a long time before I decided to purchase this jacket. I ordred it on a Saturday and it arrived a week later (from Dubai via Leipzig). I have to say that I am very happy with the jacket and I feel I really got my money''s worth!
Is it an Eastman? Absolutely not, but for $350.00 this is an awesome copy of a 1941 pattern Irvin. It is cut ture to size: I am 6''1" and 175 lbs. I normally take a 42 long, I mentioned this when I placed the order and WPG automatically ordered a 44 and it fits great with room for an RAF sweater underneath. (If you look at photos of RAF pilots of the time, all of their jackets are oversized and bulky). I would reccommend as so many others have to order a size up. The leather is a bit lighter than a $1,200 Eastman, but frankly, it is much more wearable and feels softer and more broken in. It does NOT have the "uselless elastic strap under the collar" as orignals did and it does not have "Lightning Zips" ;it uses Talons, which are just fine. It is warm and it looks great and at a cost that will allow you to use it as it was intended and not be worried about hurting it. Is it a perfect WWII Irvin reproduction? No. But for the money, I would be very surprised is anyone who bought it would not be happy with it. Oh, and did I mention that it is very warm! Good job WPG....not sure how you are making any money on this one!

Kevin - California, USA
M (2010-12-11)
I already own 2 Eastman Irvin in the past, always found the leather to rigid. Looking at Wartime Pictures, I even find this detail not being acurate. The WPG Match all my expectation and is very close in Quality to the more expensive Eastman, more flexible leather. My only concern it with the main zipper, I will buy a spare one on the internet just in case. As for the sizing, it is right on what I usually wear. Incredible deal considering the price.
Denis Bastien

Bastien - CA
Irvin jacket (2010-11-27)
very nice jacket for the price, expedient delivery, recommend.

RV - US
Irvin Jacket (2010-11-23)
Thank you once again WPG for a very speedy delivery and a great jacket. I have no way to compare it to an original but it is very well made and very warm.
I am a size 40 and i ordered a 40 as i was not that bothered about wearing more than a jumper underneath, and it fits perfectly.I would say that if you are thinking about buying this jacket and you wanted to wear the RAF tunic underneath, maybe go for the next size up as although there is plenty of room, i have tried this, it is very difficult to do the zip up.
Thanks one again WPG!!!!!

Andrews - GB
WOW! (2010-11-02)
I love this jacket. I''m kind of hard to fit, and I ordered 40 first, but it was way too big for me (arms too long, etc.) I ordered a 38, and it fits like a glove. It''s a little snug with a sweater, but that''s more or less how I like it. I love this jacket''s look, and boy is it WARM! Thanks WPG.

Sammy - Arkansas
Mr (2010-10-25)
Very good would buy from here again

Brooks - GB
Flying sheep (2010-10-25)
Got this today and as with everyone else, am amazed and pleased with the quality and fit. Details are up there with the "best" manufacturers, this is really great value for money! I am a size 40 and ordered the same size after advice off a reenactor forum. I''m glad I took notice because this fits over a sweater nicely with a good fit remaining.

Steve - Melbourne
On Second Thought (2010-10-19)
Bought mine while in China with surprisingly prompt delivery - It was love at first site - Unfortunately I ordered exactly my size due to stock issues and it was snug. I gave it to my brother as a gift (HE LOVES IT) and I decided I was going to fork out the big bucks for an Eastman - While the Eastman is more accurate I must say I wish I had just waited for WPG to restock in a bigger size because the over all cut and vibe of the WPG was more to my liking. If I can sell my Eastman I will buy two of WPG''s

Jonathan Lawrence - LA, USA
Impressed is an understatement... (2010-09-28)
Recieved my RAF flying jacket about a week ago
and am blown away by it's quality, look, fit
and details. I own an Eastman and honestly, this
one is more true to an original Irvin than any
of the others out there. Leather is nice and thick, color is correct, zippers are sturdy and
for the price you will not get a better jacket, period. Get yours before winter, these will go
quickly!

Buck, CA - US
Incredible Improvement (2010-07-27)
I placed my order on a Sunday afternoon and the jacket was here by Friday afternoon. Excellent service!

The jacket itself is a major improvement over the previous generation WPG Irvin and a very nice alternative to a $1,300.00 Irvin.

17 Sqn - US
Great Improvement (2010-07-24)
I had an Irvin from the previous production run and I would have rated that particular one as OK for the money. This new generation is absolutely incredible in materials, quality, and overall fit. Outstanding job WPG!

J.W. - In My Chair
Irvin Jacket (2010-03-07)
Fast delivery,and for the money,a very nice jacket.I realy love it.

Thanks Jerry

Bergstrom - SE
Irvin RAF jacket reproduction (2010-03-04)
This is my third reproduction "Irvin style", late war RAF jacket. For the price, it is my favorite. A very wearable reproduction. The leather is soft and pliable, and a bit lighter brown than what I am used to...does not have that "varnished shine" of my other premium price jackets, nor does it have the brass hardware, but these issues don't detract.I am thrilled with my purchase!

davis - US
RAF Sheepskin jacket (2010-02-25)
This item is of excellent quality. I love the jacket & will wear it everytime I take my spitfire for a spin!

Pullinger - US
Irvin Jacket (2010-02-18)
In a nut shell, Still the best there is hands down. Thanks for the detail and the effort Guys Well done.

Cheers Mark Nissen

Nissen - CA
A Fine Jacket (2010-02-04)
I am very pleased at the quality and construction of this Irvin jacket. A very accurate reproduction that can be used as intended unlike higher priced reproductions. If you are one of those who has to have a jacket with a precise stitch count or the shearling has to be "x" depth and hides from this herd, this is not the jacket for you. However, if you need a great Irvin flight jacket that you won't be afraid to put through its paces, strongly consider this one from WPG. Thanks again!

Thompson - US
IRVIN JACKET (2010-01-21)
As usual the guy in California comes through! The RAF flight jacket is a worthy item to be photographed in-along with some flying boots and a peaked cap!

Vince Sposato - US
RAF Sheepskin Flying Jacket (2010-01-16)
Like many of the other purchasers of this item, it took me some time to take the decision on this item. I was confused over the sizing (and after reading the reviews) as I have B2 jacket already at a size 44". It is great with just a T shirt but with a jumper it fits but restrictive. Reading the reviews I bought a size 46" (one size up) and I am glad I did. This fits fine with a jumper. For service WPG was great, and the Irvin was with me within 4 days of placing my order (Nice touch with the Invoice for international buyers - this is a worry for us in the UK). It is a very nice 'heavy' jacket, but some touches to make it more authentic would be better. For example the belt buckle would be better as Brass as would the collar rings (they are chrome), but for the money, I am very pleased and will certainly shop with WPG again. Thanks Jerry.

Colin - GB
Irvin Jacket (2010-01-09)
Superbe!!!
Trés belle finition, en plus délais de livraison incroyable ! merci beaucoup!
Peut être prévoir une poche intérieure .
Wonderfull!!!
Very beautiful finish, and very quick delivery! Thank you very much!


Philippe - Nancy (France)
Irvin Jacket (2010-01-07)
Amazing jacket. Really a dream come true! True to size. Thank you very much!

malta - BR
[1 2 3 4]