Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

RAF Irvin (2011-04-17)
An outstanding copy and good value for the money. As many have stated, its lacking in detailed appointments, but the shearling pile seems closer to an original than an Eastman I once had purchased, circa '94.
The speed of delivery is amazing.
I would suggest that WPG could offer an 'all up' accurate Irvin if they chose to aspire to greater detail, with the attendant price point increase.
Perhaps, a 2 panel Battle of Britain '38 pattern, with the finest attention to detail. I would imagine these folks could produce it, as their sheepskin is spot-on. Recommended!

Capt. Bob - USA
Irvin Jacket (2011-02-25)
It is astounding at how fast the jacket was delivered. The shipping service from WPG is second to none.
I really like this Irvin jacket and feel it is comparable to the original wartime issue jacket as well as to the Eastman, Aero Leather and Aviation Leathercraft jackets in it''s appearance. I actually like the feel and the freedom of movement allowed by the WPG jacket better. The exterior finish is closer to the actual issue jacket than the other three major manufacturers of reproduction Irvins. The fit and look is also proper. My only negative observations would have to do with the belt buckle which should be made of brass and nickel plated instead of a painted cast metal buckle and, though very minor, there were a few areas where the sewing was not as good a quality as one would have liked. Having said that you must realize that these jackets are indeed only 1/3rd of the price of other similar jackets so you can not expect the top of the line quality you may expect of a very expensive Irvin. Still Quality Control should be picking up such problems before they leave the factory. I have seen four WPG Irvin jackets and all four had some stitching issues somewhere on the jacket that needed to be repaired.
Overall I would still recommend the WPG jacket to anyone who wants a very wearable and quite accurate RAF Irvin jacket as long as you bear in mind it will need some attention.


Steve - Canada
Irvin Jacket (2011-02-25)
It is astounding at how fast the jacket was delivered. The shipping service from WPG is second to none.
I really like this Irvin jacket and feel it is comparable to the original wartime issue jacket as well as to the Eastman, Aero Leather and Aviation Leathercraft jackets in it's appearance. I actually like the feel and the freedom of movement allowed by the WPG jacket better. The exterior finish is closer to the actual issue jacket than the other three major manufacturers of reproduction Irvins. The fit and look is also proper. My only negative observations would have to do with the belt buckle which should be made of brass and nickel plated instead of a painted cast metal buckle and, though minor, there were a few areas where the sewing was not as good a quality as one would have liked. Having said that you must realize that these jackets are indeed only 1/3rd of the price of other similar jackets so you can not expect the top of the line quality you may expect of a very expensive Irvin. Still Quality Control should be picking up such problems before they leave the factory. I have seen four WPG Irvin jackets and all four had some stitching issues somewhere on the jacket that needed to be repaired.
Overall I would still recommend the WPG jacket to anyone who wants a very wearable and quite accurate RAF Irvin jacket as long as you bear in mind it will need some attention.


Pajot - CA
UK RAF Sheepskin Flying Jacket (2011-02-15)
Thank you WPG for a very speedy delivery and a great jacket. Leather is nice and thick, color seems correct, zippers are sturdy. It is small in size so follow the advice given.

Ryden - SE
MR (2011-02-09)
First class service and product some of my pals are going to send for one also after seeing mine

bailey - GB
a customer very amazed (2011-01-24)
after a very fast delivery I'm going up to the
mountains Alpes for the weed-end and I keep myself in warm conditions whith 10 minus zero ! I make again nices rambles in Queyras Valley through the winter nature between 1500 and 2000 meters. The WPG Irvin jacket is a very good product for all aspects and the maintain of this myth cloth alive! .
Thanks for the quality of your work

Santarelli - FRANCE
Irvin (2011-01-23)
Very good copy, thanks WPG!

Zand - NL
Irvin Jackets (2011-01-05)
is a little bit lighter in sheppsking quality because my soon have owned one last winter and it's more heavier and better quality than the one i have recieved.

jean - FR
Fabulous jacket (2011-01-05)
More people have complimented this jacket than I can remember. The cute girl behind the counter at my fitness club told me how great I looked and asked me if it was a Burberry. Not bad for a 53 year old! I told her no, it was a What Price Glory. The quality is outstanding and it is VERY warm. Probably the warmest jacket I have ever owned.

Mark - Chicago, IL
RAF Irvin Flying Jacket (2011-01-04)
Fantastic jacket!What more can I say.Easy to wear and pleasure to own.Thanx again Jerry.Let's keep in touch.Sincerely,Pertti

Neumann - FI
Irvin (2010-12-31)
Love the jacket...at least as good as the Aero that I used to have and cost less than half as much

Sjostrom - US
RAF-Sheepskin Flying Jacket (2010-12-20)
Great jacket for a fraction of the cost. Looks and feels like the real thing, including the color. I ordered a size up from my usual size 44R for a better fit. WPG has one hell of a deliverly system--considering it came from a warehouse in the Middle East, it came faster than items ordered locally from other companies.

Waszak - US
UK RAF Sheepskin Flying Jacket (2010-12-19)
Whilst growing up in the UK/Eire and Australia, my family knew quite a few pilots of fighters and bomber aircraft and I was practically raised on the dareing do tales of the RAF.
I had always wanted one of original Irvin jackets like my earliest heros wore.
Fast forward another 35 years or so and after my own military adventures I end up in Texas of all places with my American wife. Nostalgia creeps in and I remember my desire for an Irvin, but it's hard justifying purchasing a Jacket one can only wear for about 2 months of the year here in Texas.
Imagine my surprise when I discover that WPG has this excellent reproduction for a fraction of the cost. So, I took the plunge and ordered one after reading the reviews.
The jacket exceeded my expectations and it's arrival coincided with a nice little cold snap here in the Lone Star State.
My only complaint is DHL, whilst the jacket made it from Dubai to the DFW area in just three days(very cool tracking it on line - I can honestly say that my RAF Jacket was in the air over Germany!). Unfortunatly to get it just 20 miles from the DHL terminal to my house took an additional 50 hours of waiting. It was on the delivery truck for two days before the courier "had time between his pickups" to drop it off.
I will echo everyone else's suggesstion, buy a size larger than what you normally take. I take between a 42 to 44 depending on the cut so I ordered a 46 and it hangs the way it should on my 6ft, 185 lb broad shouldered frame.

Hackett - US
SECOND GENERATION IMPROVEMENT! (2010-12-16)
SEVERAL YEARS AGO I HAD PURCHASED AN EARLY VERSION OF WPG'S IRVIN JACKET AND I WAS IMPRESSED BY THE QUALITY AND DESIGN OF THE JACKET, ESPECIALLY THE PRICE WHEN COMPARED TO AN EASTMAN OR THE US WINGS REPROS. WELL I HAD LOST THAT JACKET A YEAR AGO THROUGH CARELESSNESS. RECENTLY I HAD BEEN CONTEMPLATING IN SAVING MONEY FOR AN EASTMAN 1942 PATTERN RAF IRVIN JACKET BUT DECIDED TO SAVE MONEY AND AGAIN PURCHASE A WPG MODEL. WELL I MUST SAY THAT WAS ONE OF THE BEST DECISIONS I'VE MADE! I LOVE THIS JACKET SO MUCH THAT I HAD PURCHASED TWO WPG IRVIN'S IN SIZE (40) WHICH IS A PERFECT FIT FOR A (5'8) PERSON. GENTLEMAN THIS IS AN IMPROVEMENT OVER THE EARLIER VERSIONS! LET ME EXPLAIN.
THE EARLIER VERSION'S USED WHITE METAL (CHROME COLORED) METAL HARDWARE FOR THE WAISTBELT BUCKLE AND THROAT RINGS. THE ACTUAL SECOND WORLD WAR IRVINS USED SOLID BRASS. THESE NEW MODELS HAVE CORRECTED THIS ISSUE AND ARE NOW SOLID BRASS! THE WAISTBELT IS ALSO MORE SUBSTANTIAL MORE HEAVIER.
THE EARLIER WPG IRVIN USES A DARKER BROWN SHEARLING SIMILAR TO THE PRE-WAR JACKETS. THE SECOND GENERATON USES MORE OF A GOLDEN OR HICKORY BROWN SHEARLING. IMAGINE MY SURPRISE WHEN I FIRST SAW THESE JACKETS THEY LOOK JUST LIKE THE 1942 PATTERN RAF ISSUE IRVIN'S BECAUSE OF THE COLOR. AS A MATTER OF FACT I HAVE A TIME-LIFE MAGAZINE PHOTOGRAPH THAT WAS DONE IN COLOR DURING THE SECOND WORLD WAR. THE PHOTO SHOWS AN RAF AIR CREW CLIMBING INTO A BRISTOL BEAUFIGHTER AND BOTH ARE WEARING 1942 PATTERN IRVIN'S IN THIS SAME COLOR!
THIS IS BY FAR EXCELLENT VALUE FOR THE MONEY! BUY THEM WHEN YOU CAN! BUY TWO IF YOU CAN!

GREGORIO - US
WWII RAF Irvin jacket (2010-12-11)
Like many who have commented here, I took a long time before I decided to purchase this jacket. I ordred it on a Saturday and it arrived a week later (from Dubai via Leipzig). I have to say that I am very happy with the jacket and I feel I really got my money''s worth!
Is it an Eastman? Absolutely not, but for $350.00 this is an awesome copy of a 1941 pattern Irvin. It is cut ture to size: I am 6''1" and 175 lbs. I normally take a 42 long, I mentioned this when I placed the order and WPG automatically ordered a 44 and it fits great with room for an RAF sweater underneath. (If you look at photos of RAF pilots of the time, all of their jackets are oversized and bulky). I would reccommend as so many others have to order a size up. The leather is a bit lighter than a $1,200 Eastman, but frankly, it is much more wearable and feels softer and more broken in. It does NOT have the "uselless elastic strap under the collar" as orignals did and it does not have "Lightning Zips" ;it uses Talons, which are just fine. It is warm and it looks great and at a cost that will allow you to use it as it was intended and not be worried about hurting it. Is it a perfect WWII Irvin reproduction? No. But for the money, I would be very surprised is anyone who bought it would not be happy with it. Oh, and did I mention that it is very warm! Good job WPG....not sure how you are making any money on this one!

Kevin - California, USA
M (2010-12-11)
I already own 2 Eastman Irvin in the past, always found the leather to rigid. Looking at Wartime Pictures, I even find this detail not being acurate. The WPG Match all my expectation and is very close in Quality to the more expensive Eastman, more flexible leather. My only concern it with the main zipper, I will buy a spare one on the internet just in case. As for the sizing, it is right on what I usually wear. Incredible deal considering the price.
Denis Bastien

Bastien - CA
Irvin jacket (2010-11-27)
very nice jacket for the price, expedient delivery, recommend.

RV - US
Irvin Jacket (2010-11-23)
Thank you once again WPG for a very speedy delivery and a great jacket. I have no way to compare it to an original but it is very well made and very warm.
I am a size 40 and i ordered a 40 as i was not that bothered about wearing more than a jumper underneath, and it fits perfectly.I would say that if you are thinking about buying this jacket and you wanted to wear the RAF tunic underneath, maybe go for the next size up as although there is plenty of room, i have tried this, it is very difficult to do the zip up.
Thanks one again WPG!!!!!

Andrews - GB
WOW! (2010-11-02)
I love this jacket. I''m kind of hard to fit, and I ordered 40 first, but it was way too big for me (arms too long, etc.) I ordered a 38, and it fits like a glove. It''s a little snug with a sweater, but that''s more or less how I like it. I love this jacket''s look, and boy is it WARM! Thanks WPG.

Sammy - Arkansas
Mr (2010-10-25)
Very good would buy from here again

Brooks - GB
Flying sheep (2010-10-25)
Got this today and as with everyone else, am amazed and pleased with the quality and fit. Details are up there with the "best" manufacturers, this is really great value for money! I am a size 40 and ordered the same size after advice off a reenactor forum. I''m glad I took notice because this fits over a sweater nicely with a good fit remaining.

Steve - Melbourne
On Second Thought (2010-10-19)
Bought mine while in China with surprisingly prompt delivery - It was love at first site - Unfortunately I ordered exactly my size due to stock issues and it was snug. I gave it to my brother as a gift (HE LOVES IT) and I decided I was going to fork out the big bucks for an Eastman - While the Eastman is more accurate I must say I wish I had just waited for WPG to restock in a bigger size because the over all cut and vibe of the WPG was more to my liking. If I can sell my Eastman I will buy two of WPG''s

Jonathan Lawrence - LA, USA
Impressed is an understatement... (2010-09-28)
Recieved my RAF flying jacket about a week ago
and am blown away by it's quality, look, fit
and details. I own an Eastman and honestly, this
one is more true to an original Irvin than any
of the others out there. Leather is nice and thick, color is correct, zippers are sturdy and
for the price you will not get a better jacket, period. Get yours before winter, these will go
quickly!

Buck, CA - US
Incredible Improvement (2010-07-27)
I placed my order on a Sunday afternoon and the jacket was here by Friday afternoon. Excellent service!

The jacket itself is a major improvement over the previous generation WPG Irvin and a very nice alternative to a $1,300.00 Irvin.

17 Sqn - US
Great Improvement (2010-07-24)
I had an Irvin from the previous production run and I would have rated that particular one as OK for the money. This new generation is absolutely incredible in materials, quality, and overall fit. Outstanding job WPG!

J.W. - In My Chair
Irvin Jacket (2010-03-07)
Fast delivery,and for the money,a very nice jacket.I realy love it.

Thanks Jerry

Bergstrom - SE
Irvin RAF jacket reproduction (2010-03-04)
This is my third reproduction "Irvin style", late war RAF jacket. For the price, it is my favorite. A very wearable reproduction. The leather is soft and pliable, and a bit lighter brown than what I am used to...does not have that "varnished shine" of my other premium price jackets, nor does it have the brass hardware, but these issues don't detract.I am thrilled with my purchase!

davis - US
RAF Sheepskin jacket (2010-02-25)
This item is of excellent quality. I love the jacket & will wear it everytime I take my spitfire for a spin!

Pullinger - US
Irvin Jacket (2010-02-18)
In a nut shell, Still the best there is hands down. Thanks for the detail and the effort Guys Well done.

Cheers Mark Nissen

Nissen - CA
A Fine Jacket (2010-02-04)
I am very pleased at the quality and construction of this Irvin jacket. A very accurate reproduction that can be used as intended unlike higher priced reproductions. If you are one of those who has to have a jacket with a precise stitch count or the shearling has to be "x" depth and hides from this herd, this is not the jacket for you. However, if you need a great Irvin flight jacket that you won't be afraid to put through its paces, strongly consider this one from WPG. Thanks again!

Thompson - US
IRVIN JACKET (2010-01-21)
As usual the guy in California comes through! The RAF flight jacket is a worthy item to be photographed in-along with some flying boots and a peaked cap!

Vince Sposato - US
RAF Sheepskin Flying Jacket (2010-01-16)
Like many of the other purchasers of this item, it took me some time to take the decision on this item. I was confused over the sizing (and after reading the reviews) as I have B2 jacket already at a size 44". It is great with just a T shirt but with a jumper it fits but restrictive. Reading the reviews I bought a size 46" (one size up) and I am glad I did. This fits fine with a jumper. For service WPG was great, and the Irvin was with me within 4 days of placing my order (Nice touch with the Invoice for international buyers - this is a worry for us in the UK). It is a very nice 'heavy' jacket, but some touches to make it more authentic would be better. For example the belt buckle would be better as Brass as would the collar rings (they are chrome), but for the money, I am very pleased and will certainly shop with WPG again. Thanks Jerry.

Colin - GB
Irvin Jacket (2010-01-09)
Superbe!!!
Trés belle finition, en plus délais de livraison incroyable ! merci beaucoup!
Peut être prévoir une poche intérieure .
Wonderfull!!!
Very beautiful finish, and very quick delivery! Thank you very much!


Philippe - Nancy (France)
Irvin Jacket (2010-01-07)
Amazing jacket. Really a dream come true! True to size. Thank you very much!

malta - BR
perfect (2010-01-04)
Oh yes,
a big compliment to wpg.
a great jacket for a good price.
i also ordered a size up and it fits perfect.
thank you very much.

Schatull - DE
Irvin (2009-12-31)
Great Jacket and fast delivery my compliments!!

Lamberto - Italy
I was extremely skeptical (2009-12-30)
I was extremely skeptical. There was no way on earth that Jerry could produce a high quality jacket of the caliber I was searching for at such a lowly fee. I stared at the small photograph on the website for hours agonizing over whether or not to take the plunge and place my order. With some trepidation I watched the money leave my PayPal account and disappear into the either, all the while wondering if the Irvin jacket that would arrive on my doorstep would be even remotely decent in quality. When that magical Skynet package arrived I held my breath and ripped it open with all the eagerness of an overcaffeinated six year old on Christmas morning… only to find… EUREKA!!! Angles were singing! Doves flew out of the package along with about a dozen rainbows and a shower of rose petals! … Okay not really… But it turned out to be a pretty damn good make of an Irvin Jacket.

McNamara - US
Irvin jacket (2009-12-30)
Great jacket, great value! WPG has done it again!

Roberts - AU
Irvin Jacket (2009-12-22)
Though I'd to wait until restock, jacket worth it. Recommended item. Fast delivery & Good quality

del - ES
Irving jacket (2009-12-21)
Very good quality price, good details,
Very professional company regarding Shipping & tracking
All the best

Fouan - FR
I love my funky jacket, I love my funky jacket! (2009-12-17)
Yes, the reviews are correct, and what more could I, as an insignificant participant in this crazy universe, possibly add? This is a groovy piece of cold weather kit and I love it. THANKS, MARY LEIGH! Love you, babe!

Johnson - US
Fantastic, as usual (2009-11-24)
This was the 2nd jacket I ordered from WPG so I wasn''t taken by surprise by its quality this time. It''s one of the most realistic Irvin repros for 1/3rd of the price. A lot more realistic than most of those expensive ones, except maybe for Eastman LC. I''m size 40 and last time I ordered a size 42, because everyone told me to go for a bigger size because of the thick sheepskin. Well, a size 42 really is a size 42 as it turned out, so now I bought a size 40. Anyway, if anyone would like to have a realistic Irvin repro for a reasonable price, this is the best choice by far. Thanks Jerry Lee!

Greg - Hungary
Fantastic (2009-11-21)
In a word fantasitc, I have allways wanted one of these and now I have one ;) getting into winter here in Canada and in the field the temps will drop down to -40 ish. Works like a dream now I dont need a heater in the Jetranger next on the list may be a set of the boots ay.

Cheers and well done jerry

Nissen - CA
ok Cover me (2009-11-16)
FOR THE MONEY it is a FANTASTIC jacket. You will not find a better deal.
Down to the nitty gritty - It is not as well constructed as my 900. RAF sheepskin for one simple reason - This one isn't 900. many small finishing touches just are not on this jacket,they used cool rugged looking brass eyelets, zippers and buckle then missed the mark with shiny chrome rings at the collar -UGH! Stiching is ok but I am concerned about wear over time... BUT who cares? The price is right and its funtional. It is a really great piece. It has a wonderful nostalgic feel and is warmer than warm. Just got in from 20 degrees with only a T shirt under - and didnt feel a chill at all. Thanks WPG.... loose the chrome.

Lawrence - US
Wesley (2009-11-14)
Ithink it is great jacket for that price
It fits perfectly my expectations
This jacket just arrived before canadian winter
I'm so happy
thank you Jerry

wesley - CA
Irvin jacket (2009-10-31)
A very nice copy of the Irving. These are the military fit though so future buyers should order one size up if they want a looser fit.

Kroegel - US
irvin jacket (2009-10-30)
thanks for the speedy delivery of my irvin jacket.three days.you have a great product and a very good service.the jacket fits prefectly and the quality is superb.thanks again

stranks - GB
Very Happy (2009-10-08)
I really like the jacket and I received it pretty quickly. I think it's a great value.

Beaird - US
UK Irvin Jacket (2009-08-18)
Well, after much consideration, I took the plunge and ordered your Irvin pattern sheepskin flight jacket. To say I am delighted is an absolute understatement. Even after all the glowing reviews I read on your website, I was still blown away by the real thing when it arrived (at the speed of light, I might add!) Thank you for such a superb example of this historic garment. The fabrication, the colour, the fit and the authenticity of replication is bang on perfect in every way - and the value is truly beyond belief. As you state in your ad, it truly is a $900 (or more) value for a mere $350. My one comment to others considering this product is to perhaps buy one size larger than normal, as it is a military fit. I would normally be a size 44-46, but none were available, so I purchased a size 48. It fits perfectly. Thank you WPG. I feel very privileged to have been able to aquire this heirloom which I will wear with pride, and one day pass down to my grand children.

Neil - Canada
UK Irvin Jacket (2009-08-18)
Well, after much consideration, I took the plunge and ordered your Irvin pattern sheepskin flight jacket. To say I am delighted is an absolute understatement. Even after all the glowing reviews I read on your website, I was still blown away by the real thing when it arrived (at the speed of light, I might add!) Thank you for such a superb example of this historic garment. The fabrication, the colour, the fit and the authenticity of rplication is bang on perfect in every way - and the value is truly beyond belief. As you state in your ad, it truly is a $900 (or more) value for a mere $350. My one comment to others considering this product is to perhaps buy one size larger than normal, as it is a military fit. I would normally be a size 44-46, but none were available, so I purchased a size 48. It fits perfectly. Thank you WPG. I feel very privileged to have been able to aquire this heirloom which I will wear with pride, and one day pass down to my grand children.

Neil - Canada
[1 2 3]