Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

Nice Jacket! (2017-09-11)
I've bought a few things from WPG and bought this one for my wife. Great quality and fits her perfect. I had considered buying the Eastman version but this is excellent for the price.

Ivansek - US
For the price,unbeatable (2017-03-28)
I had in my possession an Irvin from 1940-41. It had seen a lot of use,and had been repaired,main zip mostly. WPG's Irvin compares very favorably,not an exact replica,try to find an old Lightning main zip nowadays,but a quality garment all the same.I have never had an Eastman or Aero,but I cant believe they could be three times better than WPG's

Mays - US
Excellent service as usual (2016-10-12)
I compared this repro Irvin with an earlier WPG jacket owned by a friend.
In my opinion the overall quality is not quite as good as the first run. The primary differences are the shearling on the new jacket isn't as thick and the leather tapes on the seams aren't quite as finished as the original.

As mentioned in a previous review, the waist belt could be shorter or have a few more holes for a proper fit.

That said, the quality overall is good and the size 44 fit just fine with plenty of length in the sleeves. I am 6'3" tall and wear 44L. An excellent jacket for the price.

Kilgore - US
Excellent and fast shipping (2016-04-26)
A great job on detail (omitting as a cretic point, elastic collar band to pull collar up and to keep it erect) and no pockets super! Other positive points, is lack of acrylic spray and shorter fleece adds to phenomenal mobility. Some might thing a shorter fleece is less elegant, but it suits this jacket perfectly . The Irvin is extremely comfortable to wear with all seam tapes nicely done. My own modification was to coat down some of the seam tapes, mostly where there is a lot of bending moments, such as arm seam tapes with “jojoba oil” (həˈhoʊ.bə) which will not go rancid or oxidize, its just expensive. This personal modification was not really necessary, I just like to tweak on small details and enhance longevity on jackets that I have. The main zipper, I haven't had any issues with. Pseudo Talon zipper, it works well and most zippers should be pampered anyway. The Irvin traditionally, had a Lightning brand zipper, but I'm not a purest about that and any good military grade zipper should do fine. To sum it all up: WPG did an astonishing job on their new run Irvin and I was not disappointed at all, for a jacket that is modestly priced, It’s excellent.

Petrie---State of Maine - US
. (2015-12-19)
excellent irvin style jacket,warm and fits great,also it arrived in England 2 days after i got the tracking info,impressed would use again

kershaw - UK
RAF Jacket (2015-11-28)
Not a bad jacket...far better in many ways than one I'd ordered before (the zipper broke on the previous jacket). One thing I DO have as a criticism, and this is why I cannot give this item a five-star rating) would be the Talon zippers. Did the RAF use Talon zippers on these jackets? And the jacket closes from the AMERICAN side, not the British. Otherwise, an excellent and classy jacket!

Gregg - New Mexico
RAF Sheepskin Jacket (2015-10-31)
Excellent Quality, Super fast shipping from UAE. Three uses for it: #Fly an open cockpit aircraft, #2-Live in snow country, #3-Drive a 43' Jeep-a DMV registered rolling museum, use it in parades, veterans functions, adorned with military gear/weapons. This goes well with my Dad"s flight helmet, oxygen mask,Mae West, flight suit, .45, etc.

Whiting - US
Irvin Jacket (2015-09-24)
Very impressed with the jacket. It was just as described and will look great when driving my Jeep on a cold day. just one word of warning for UK buyers, customs got their hands on the package and I had to pay about £20 import duty!!! Even so it is still great value for money.


Arnold - UK
Erik from The Netherland (2015-09-05)
Excellent service and quality, thanks

Jellema - NL
raf sheepsin jacket (2015-06-22)
superb fit the jacket is tailored to the wareings contract the sheepskin has a wonderful leather jerky patina and robust zippers you can bring out patina with a few coats of instant shine liquid shoe polish if you like for an antique finish

bob johnson - uk
RAF Irvin Jacket (2015-03-18)
Very good delivery service and communication. Very happy with the item which is good quality.

McCann - UK
RAF Sheepskin jacket (2014-12-22)
I received today the RAF Sheepskin jacket and frankly, I am more than satisfied . The item is quiet identical to the website picture and once again,I''m not disappointed with the WPG''s product quality .

Tan Loc CAO - Paris France
Minor problems (2014-12-07)
I'm very impressed with the overall quality.
Unfortunately the waist belt is a total fail.
I buckled it up all the way...and it did not reach the belt loop.
Although, there is another is another one sewn in on the right hand side...which serves no function.
Once again, I will have to go to the local leather shop to have things altered.
This will cost me additional money.

Cross - US
Open Cockpit (2014-10-15)
After years of saving my nickels I finally bought my mid-life convertible - just in time for winter. Your sheepskin jacket will come in hnady on those cold but clear days we have all winter long. Many thanks for the quality, price, and service.


Abell - US
Rerpo, British B# Type Flying Jacket (2014-07-13)
Smooooooooth easy deal! As before, great quality! Very Quick to Ship! Very pleased! Thanks again!

Fessenbecker - US
superb (2014-05-18)
Unbelievably superior piece of leatherwork for a reasonable price. Very pleased, and fast delivery from Dubai as well.

Hunter - US
flight jacket RAF (2014-02-20)
hello I have well received the item very good quality and fidelity in the reproduction thank you cordially

boyer - FR
Raf jacket (2014-02-09)
Just got it fast shipping . Wore it the next day fits great . Worried about the zipper though. But for the price one step at a time. Thanks . Wig has great stuff bought a lot never been disappointed. Now I need an raft uniform saving money

Welsh - US
The Best (2014-01-12)
I never and I mean, NEVER, write reviews but now I have to. This item is the best priced on the net and the quality is second to none.. Please believe me, you will not be disappointed.

Pete - Netherlands
Best jacket I have ever seen. (2013-12-10)
I have been looking for a RAF jacket for many months I have read every blog looked at every web site asked countless numbers of questions. Well about I ordered a A2 jacket from Flight Jacket.com. It is beautiful and I have been very happy with it and decided to look at there RAF jacket and about that time I received a large bonus at work and decided to go with it. Even though the color on the web site did not look right. Well it was $850.oo The day it arrived it looked cheap and nothing like a genuine RAF jacket it was about 20 shades too dark. Well I sent it back. I was looking at WPG site and noticed for the first time there RAF jacket. I was thinking because of the price it was going to be a cheap knock off. I was absolutely shocked when I received it, it is awesome better than Eastman. Do not pass up on this deal.

Allen - US
RAF Sheepskin Jacket (2013-10-23)
Well made and looks the part. The lighter construction makes it comfortable to wear and I have no issues at all with the jacket. Time will tell whether the main zip will stand up regular use. Much better value for money that other more expensive copies of the Irvin jacket. I agree with the observation that you should buy one size up if wearing over a thick sweater or uniform. Usual speedy delivery.

Steve - UK
RAF Sheepskin Jacket (2013-10-11)
Just received my jacket. Looks fabulous, a well made Irvin lookalike. Time will tell whether the other comments regarding the main zip apply to my jacket. It looks fine to me so far. I agree that if you want to wear it over either a thick pullover or a tunic, you need to buy one size up. Another great piece of kit, just like all the other items I''ve bought from WPG. Well done guys!

Stephen Roberts - U.K.
Thanks! (2013-09-14)
Awesomely speedy delivery from UAE! Very pleased with the quality of this warm, comfortable jacket. Good authentic details like the vents, collar stitching and AM-style label. Looks convincing inside and out, at a very modest price. My only suggestion (not a complaint as the jacket is very well made) might be to supply a more heavy duty central zip. I greased mine and it's fine, but I'm being careful. Regret not ordering the Ascot scarf, plus not having a deckchair or waiting Spit. Chocks away!

Kincaid - SE
Sheepskin Jacket (2013-03-08)
Exactly what we needed for our stage production.

Copeman - CA
RAF jacket (2013-03-06)
Great price for a nice repro. The descritpion depicts as it is, awesome!

manzuco - ES
RAF Jacket Great Coat (2012-12-29)
quality was excellent. Priced excellent, my only problem was the sleeve''s were too long and can''t be shortened like the B3.Zipper also broke on one of the sleeve''s. Very warm, I grew out of it. I will get a B3 when they come back in stock.

Charles Johnson - Michigan/USA
RAF jacket (2012-12-04)
I am very happy with the jacket and fast delivery.
Thank you very much, I have purchased many items during last few years and I can say I am one of the happy customers.

Moszner - PL
Mr (2012-11-25)
First time I have used this company, Jacket and service both excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Roberts - FR/GB
UK RAF Sheepskin Flying Jacket (2012-11-03)
Every one that has seen my new RAF jacket is very impressed. Fits well, even the sleeves were long enough. Last repo of this jacket I saw was 20 yrs. ago and then they wanted $1000.00.

Allen - CA
Great jacket! (2012-09-19)
My jacket arrived today. Really fast shipping. And really nice jacket!

Johan - Sweden
Un vrai look de Pilote (2012-07-09)
Très belle veste
à un prix très raisonnable, je trouve que c'est la reproduction qui se rapproche le plus des veste de la RAF que l'ont voient sur les photos d'époque. Personnellement j'ai aussi la veste d'AeroLeather, Belle veste, la peau de mouton est beaucoup plus épaisse que celle de
WPG, mais peu être un peu trop. Si vous recherchez l'authenticité du look pilote de la RAF de la grande guerre. je conseil vivement la veste de WPG. Et de plus au tires du prix de ce que ma couté l'autre avec le transport et les douanes Canadienne…
La procédure d'achat et le délais de livraison sont très rapide!
Merci WPG
Jean-Philippe
Pilote de Spitfire 80%

Morin - CA
nice (2012-04-22)
My Bride got me my jacket for Christmas in 2011....just in time for the warmest winter on record. I only got the chance to wear it once, and that was to church. I liked the way it fit,and all the members of church liked it also. Can not wait till next winter to wear it while driving the WC52 or GPW.
One of the few, Frank USMC RET

Frank - North Carolina, USA
excellent (2012-02-28)
Good repro, very hight quality leather. Excellent service.

Giacomo - Italy
Irvin Jacket (2012-02-20)
The jacket is nicer than what I expected. I used own same jacket on AeroLeather which the price would be double than this jacket. Compared between two, the mouton on AeroLeather was better and accurate than WPG's but leather is about same quality and WPG is much softer to wear. Zipper on WPG is Talon but I am not sure if this is correct (better than YKK!?). AeroLeather had AM on it...Very pleased for the price What I paid for and glad ordered one size bigger than I normally wear!
Thanks!

Lee - US
Irvin repro gorgeous (2012-02-17)
I''ve had my WPG Irvin reproof jacket for two winters now and I love it. Looks great, feels great, super warm. Only issues are the zippers. Main zip is hard to pull up and the left wrist zip is broken off so I''ve sown it closed. I wear scrubs to work and this jacket keeps me toasty warm. Now if only WPG would make the matching pants my backside wouldn''t freeze on the leather seats!

Mike - New Jersey
UK flying jacket (2012-02-09)
I have received my UK flying jacket today.look great,fit great,and beautifuly made.
Jean-luc

Jean-luc - France
RAF Irvin Jacket (2011-12-22)
I thought long and hard before purchasing my WPG Irvin,as I own an original which I don't want to risk damaging with frequent wear. I wanted a good replica,and compared all the major brands for a copy which is both wearable daily and also visually accurate enough to incorporate into my collection of historical RAF kit.
I don't myself think anyone can(really)claim to make a perfect WWII copy,as there was much variation in wartime production. The WPG offering is very close to the jackets produced by the Warings firm during the mid-war period.
These jackets have all the visual impact of an original.The outside colour is a perfect match.The fleece colour is very close as well.
The workmanship on mine is very good,with none of the negative points made ny some.Everything is nice and tight.The only reservation I could possibly make has to do with the front zipper,which is a little bit flimsy,but at ONE THIRD the price of a replica from any of the big three I'll admit this is a mute point.
These jackets are lighter than those made by "the big three",but the vast majority of people won't be wearing them at 25,00 feet,and they are indeed very warm,and don't need breaking in.They are also wearable for longer in the year besides the season of deep cold.
Sizing is also very accurate. Getting one size up to accomodate a sweater or uniform is a good idea(with a WPG submarine sweater you will be set for anything and look like you stepped out of a time capsule).
My only regret I have is that I should have got mine sooner.It was delivered from Dubai to the west coast of Canada in one week.I've only worn it one day and already have had people walk up to me on the street and compliment me on it,and I,ve told them all if they want an Irvin,it's a no brainer,the WPG version is very good value,it's money well spent,and I'm VERY happy with it.
WPG.I salute you!




Jacklin - CA
RAF Sheepskin Jacket (2011-12-09)
It got here a lot quicker than I thought it would. The quality is great, the fit is great. Now it just needs to get cold enough in Central Texas to wear it.

Strauss - Texas
Excellent (2011-12-08)
Great reproduction and super fast delivery. Better than the Avirex Irvin I owned once. Size-wise, I'd say it is true to size. Having said that, if you do want to wear a sweater beneath, I would order one size up, but why would you? Number one, the whole getup would be very bulky, and number two, you'd roast. If you want my advice, get your correct jacket size and just wear a shirt undeath. You will be warm!

Morton - US
RAF Irving (2011-12-03)
jacket is top quality and perfect in nearly every detail...service was perfect and shipping was lightning fast

hodge - US
great deal (2011-12-01)
jacket just came..perfect in every detail and not a stitch out of place..was meant to be for Xmus but it won''t be going back in the box I am going to start wearing it right now....

alan - NC/USA
Mister (2011-11-16)
Ordered wrong size and misread instructions on an exchange procedure. WPG performed very well and the replacement fits and looks good. I am very satisfied with this transaction

Shepherd - US
Great RAF Flying Jacket (2011-10-26)
I called WPG and as many others have said they recommended going one size up to wear over a sweater which was 100% correct, some reviews have complained about poor quality but I was pleasantly surprised, it is excellent, the design, (RAF 1942 pattern), sheepskin, (the weight is ideal--not super thick like some companies), zips, stitching, buckles--all surpassed my expectations!

Looking forward to some cold weather here in the Mid-Atlantic to give it a workout, the more this jacket is worn--the better looking it will get, thanks for a quality product WPG.

Z - US
Irvin jacket (2011-10-07)
Always wanted one of these! Great price and a fine jacket. I don't have any complaints at all - I love it! The fit, the color, the pile are all what I was hoping for. I debated between this and Jerry's B-3 and am glad I got this one. (Although I do see a B-3 in my future!) For the first time, I can't wait for winter to get here now! I was on the fence for a few weeks over buying this. Don't be - it's a great purchase, and was here lightning quick too.

Laplander - US
Tally Ho! (2011-08-31)
Received my RAF jacket today. As always, I''m very impressed by the speed of delivery (much faster than local mail...). I ordered one size larger as recommended, and it fits perfectly! It''s heavy, soft and VERY warm. And WOW! that enormous collar wraps around my entire head! No more wind-bitten ears!!! For once,I''m almost looking forwards to the Norwegian winter... My only concern is that it feels SO soft, I''m worried it might tear easily, but time will tell. Anyway, it looks great with my submarine sweater! Now I only hope WPG will start making the sheepskin trousers that were used with it, and an RAF leather helmet to complete my "Biggles"-look...

Are - Norway
irving jacket (2011-08-24)
hi ...happy with the jacket ...i'm about a 42 chest and ordering one size bigger as recommended by other reviews worked well as i recieved a 44 jacket and it is about right ...price and shipping and quality are very good ...pleased with the purchase thank you

pardell - CA
size (2011-08-22)
Hi! Im a size 38 chest. how big does the size 38 come up, is it quite roomy, and do you do a smaller size!cheers

edward - london
irvin flying jacket (2011-08-20)
excellent reproduction at a great price.another winner from WPG.fast delivery to the UK as well.

attew - GB
Mr (2011-05-12)
Great service great products,keep up the good work

talbot - AU
Not the quality it used to be? (2011-05-11)
This is my 3rd WPG Irvin, I gifted the first two. I must say that this one''s quality is below the first 2. The zipper is very bad, and the stitching is very much off sometimes, and there''s even a little gap in the fur line of one of the sleeves.
However, it''s still a great jacket for the price and the shipping was incredibly fast.

Greg - Budapest
[1 2 3]