Read Reviews

Write Review  |  Product Details

excellent (2013-03-10)
superb quality and finisch! Really love it! Again Jerry beat price with amazing product! You should get one! I wear 42 so I ordered large according to size chart. Fits perfect!

Marcin - BE
Sweater (2013-03-09)
Looks great. Ordered one size larger and fits great.

FERRICKS - US
Great Item (2013-03-07)
Great item! After reading the reviews I ordered an L. I am just under 6 ft but lightweight with a 40 chest and it is a perfect fit. I have medium to long arms and the sleeves are just right.

Michael - United Kingdom
great sweater, well made (2013-03-07)
I saw the olive green shawl collar cardigan as a great sweater for the outdoors, and of a type that has been hard to find. The workmanship was superb, the fit right, and I am very happy with it. I'm glad we got enough cool weather for me to wear it. I love it. I like the fatted wool, too.

Crisp - US
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2013-03-07)
Good solid no nonsense sweater. I love the color - olive brown. I,m a 6' 210lb 46R - ordered a 2XL. I could button it but I looked like a sausage in a casing. Returned it for a 3XL and it fits great. Easy Return. Shipping, Dubia to Omaha in 3 Days, Omaha to Bismarck 4 days?? Have worn it outside at 10deg F and have been confortable. Oh, the smell goes away after a few days, just hang it in the basement.

Paul, North Dakota - US
production (2013-03-06)
A terrific warm sweater. Love the evocation of of an older era (30'sand 40's) Great fit.
The service and delivery was awesome.

Thank you.

Yee - US
wool cardigan (2013-03-06)
I looked good to the feedback and orderd myself a size bigger (normaly i wear a xl)
I got a xxl and its just right.
The cardigan was a bit smudgy at the top and i was very scared to wash it (shrinking)
I toke the chance an washt it on the wool program on cold.
When i took the cardigan out and shuck it out I was very glade it did not shrink but it was a size bigger?!
So i pulled on the sleeves and ly it to dry
Now its perfect.

Rick - NL
Mr. (2013-03-06)
I like it. I ordered a XXL and it is a bit tight and short, but servicable.

Diethrich - US
Shawl collar sweater (2013-03-06)
I liked the first sweater so much, that I ordered a second one for a frient of mine. She Loves it. As always, WPG is tops in both quality and delivery.

Wilson - US
ANOTHER GREAT REPRO BY WPG!!! (2013-03-06)
Kudos to Jerry Lee and the Paki's. They've done it again with this sweater, which I've only seen in photos of the Punitive Expedition circa 1917. The first time I wore it, I received numerous compliments and inquiries as to where I purchased it. The only "nit" I find with it as an old clothing salesman, is that the sizing is off by at least one size. I normally wear a large and I thought an XL might be too big. The XL was, fortuantely, equivalent to a large, so buyers should get one size larger than they normally would buy. Stan Wolcott

Wolcott - US
Excellent! (2013-03-04)
This sweater is amazing! Was worth to wait for. I love colour, cut and vintage look buttons. Just on spot. I got size 42, so I ordered L just like chart says. Fits perfect! It´s a pitty that winter is almost done :)

Marcin - Belgium
Nice Product (2012-12-11)
Here''s the Review:

1. The customer service team is first rate: product shipped on Thursday and it arrived here in PA on the following Monday. Great job!

2. The quality of the sweater is very good, as are the colors (I ordered white & OD). I am 5''10, about 200 lbs, and (generally wear a size 44R jacket and a 16-1/2 x 34 dress shirt; these translate into a size "L") ordered (1) each of both colors in size XL. The fit of the XL on my frame can characterized as "trim" - not loose & not tight. Should you prefer a looser fit, you may want to go up two sizes (e.g., if you generally wear a large, go to a 2XL).

Otherwise, Jerry has once again delivered a superb product!

17 SQN RAF - USA
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2012-11-21)
I love it, the xl fit perfectly for a 44 chest. You will not be disappointed. Thanks

Alex - ITALY
Excellent (2012-11-08)
Overall the most practical sweater I have ever worn at an event. Just has a classic early 20th century look to it. Change out the buttons is my only recommendation but otherwise two thumbs up.

Rich M. - Virginia, USA
Fits like a glove (2012-10-25)
I ordered one in L, although my usual size is more M-ish. Looks great, snugly to wear and the price is more than fair. I've seen less appealing pieces for double the price.

Schweigl - AT
Olive Cardigan (2012-10-22)
This is a solid, no bullshit sweater! It fits me well (Large = 42 N.American) and looks great. It will be a stylish "workhorse" in my wardrobe for the colder fall and winter months here in the Canadian prairies. The only improvement would be a higher quality button.

Corey - CA
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2012-10-12)
This is an outstanding sweater. I was after a sweater similar to that worn by Lee Marvin in "The Proffesionals" and this one is pretty close. It is heavy scratchy wool with big buttons. I only gave it 4 stars because it is a little snug. I ordered an XL and I am 6', 200lbs, and this sweater fits good with just a long sleeve T shirt. It might be a little more snug with a LS shirt. Anyway I like it and will wear it.

Kellogg - US
Excellent (2012-10-12)
So I'm 5-7, 175lbs and my measurements are: Shoulders - 20", Chest - 42", Sleeve-Cuff - 24" and Waist - 31" (no belly). I ordered a size LARGE, verified the measurements and the ones provided in the chart on the website are right on the money; guess that would apply for the other sizes too. The fit is good but I do like it a bit tighter. Should have probably ordered a M but they're gone now so hopefully it will shrink a bit. The color is definitely OD and very handsome. Oh and about the smell, I know it's a matter of taste but to me it's got the scent of the era and I LOVE IT - fantastic. Thanks WPG!

Santiago - US
I dig it! (2012-10-11)
Super comfortable, nice for taking the motorcycle out on a hot day.

beals - US
Great Sweater (2012-10-11)
I got the large - I'm 6'2, 180 lbs, 42L jacket. The large fits perfectly. Sleeves could be a touch longer (but I like a longer sleeve). Olive is a bit more of a brown color than you might expect, but very nice. Looks sturdy, will order another in the off white.

Bray - CA
Great Sweater! (2012-09-15)
I''ve been looking for a nice sweater and this is it! Fits great (size L) and shipping is quick!

Mitchell - Houston
Cardigan Sweater (2012-09-11)
What an awesome sweater. Nice job. Going to be my winter daily wear. Fits great and true to size.

Armbruster - US
Cardigan (2012-09-10)
Keep in mind--its still summer in Texas, so, I haven't worn the sweater yet. But, I tried it on--fit was a bit snug for an XL--I'm 6 foot and 200 pounds--and on the short side. This doesn't bother me so much as I wanted to layer under a jacket. And there was some odor--really more of a surplus smell that only lasted a day. Over all, I'm very happy--the wool used is very tightly knitted and the color, although more brown than I expected, will look great with jeans or khakis.

Campbell - US
Shawl Collar Sweater (2012-08-12)
Extremely pleased. I have vintage shawl collar sweaters, and this one compares very well to those at an excellent price. Note: Sizing runs small. A Medium = Size 38. And quick shipping.

Greenwood - US
Meets expectations. (2012-07-16)
I read the reviews before buying this and I am glad I did. Buy a size bigger than you think you''ll need. I am 6 ft, 42 chest with a matching tummy. The XL was still a good fit but if it shrinks then it will belong to the other half. Wool is good quality, looks snug and is. The stitching and buttons are great and easy you use. The pockets are not as big as I thought they would be but perfect for putting the remote control in whilst watching the TV. A great home cardigan. Australian customs where a slight issue holding up delivery, but we worked it out with them. Get one for your father in-law and he''ll love you even more.

Mickey G - Sydney Australia
cardigan (2012-07-07)
looks great and I liked it but for an xl was way to small for a 6'4" man with 48 chest and 36" arms I think maybe I would have to take a 3xl to fit. I was disappointed it did not fit since I like the sweater.

Stillman - US
cardigan with shawl (2012-06-27)
very quick delivery and very closely matches the original my teenage father swiped from a drunk Yank serviceman here in Australia in 1943, and which he and I have treasured ever since!

Shevtzoff - AU
Wool cardigan sweater (2012-06-21)
Just arrived and ahead of schedule Perfect fit and very well made. Glad I bought it.
Thanks WPG

Lawrence - Elk Grove, CA
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2012-06-17)
had ordered both colours for myself, we both liked them very much, that's why this one will be for the wife!

van - NL
Awesome (2012-06-15)
Great sweater! Looking forward to winter!

Reitmeyer - US
Wool Sweater (2012-05-20)
Very pleased, fits well and smells great.
Might treat myself to a white one.

Allaway - GB
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2012-04-15)
Great sweater and very much agree about the need to order a size larger. I normally take an XL - the 2XL is a nice snug fit. Does smell a little but a good airing in the wind seems to have taken the edge off it.

Boyd - AU
Shawl Collar Cardigan (2012-03-20)
Excellent quality product at a great price! The wool is nice & heavy and the Olive green colour is very appealing. I orginally ordered a 3XXX thinking it would come out on the small-side, however it was a tad too big and WPG were absolutely great with their customer service, no quibbles, just return & swap for a smaller size.Pleasure doing business with you chaps!

Sid - GB
U.S. Sweater (2012-03-09)
Received yesterday, looks very nice and fits.
Excellent service.

Kangas - CA
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2012-03-04)
Really luv this sweater. Thanks much!

KOCH - US
US Classic Cardigan Wool Sweater with Shawl Collar (2012-02-28)
Fantastic sweater, very well made and warm. Sizes run small, i am a 40 inch chest and take a large but i ordered xl and it fits like a glove. Thanks once again for your help, and as always a very speedy delivery

Andrews - GB
heavy duty cardigan (2012-02-10)
another winner from WPG.very nice quality,and fits beautifully.both functional and stylish!

attew - GB
Fit (really) Small (2012-01-21)
So, it turned out they fit small. I ordered a size up but ended up having to send it back and exchange it for yet larger size. The return was hassle free and totally worth it. He really likes the sweater!

Hughes - CA
off-white classic cardigan with shael collar (2012-01-20)
i''ve received my off-white sweater quickly.i''m 178cm tall and i''ve a 108cm chest and XL SIZE fits perfectly,nether too tight nor too loose.
can anybody suggest me about an anti-schreatchy treatment?
BTW,i''m quite pleased,a lovely vintage-style sweater.

Giovanni - ITALY
Very well done. (2012-01-20)
I frankly ignore if it reproduces military issue or what, anyway it's Perfectly US GI & the OD shade it's just spot on. I've ordered it out of curiosity, a size less because I like to dress tight (over-layering when needed) & I can testify the size is just right GI sweater WWII, by the book so to say. Just put on an M-43 & You won't need a Mackinaw coat nor a scarf. I think it's great for reenactors 'cause it adds variety & singularity to the common standard.
Excellent knitting, very close to the today GI sweater as for the fabric.
Satisfied as confidently expected, I've put it outright in service.

Ricciardi - IT
Cardigan sweater (2012-01-18)
Well it finally arrived. Absolutely first rate. Came just in tile to get a goos work out, and as far as warmth, it suprasses my expectatitions.
Historicall I came across some great information on these sweaters, and the are historically correct to be worn across the border.
Well done Jerry!

Michael ( Mick) - highlkands of central Arizona.
Excellent (2012-01-17)
Really a great sweater in every respect and great service as well. I ordered my normal size and the fit is perfect. The length is vintage and just what I wanted however I can understand some of the comments of it being on the short side (if one is used to modern cut clothes). I ordered the off-white. Recommend 100%

Jeter - US
pull (2012-01-16)
tres jolie pull conforme a la description

boyer - FR
Cardigan sweater (2012-01-14)
These are really nice sweaters but do not wash them in cold water as they will shrink anormously. Normally you can wash a sweater in cold water but don't do it with these. Bought one for my wife, she washed it cold and let dry flat on the floor. Once it was dry it has shrunken to fit a very petite person only. Otherwise these are really nice sweaters!

Covais - US
US Cardigan Sweater (2012-01-11)
Just received my sweater the other day, and it is Great! Heavy weight wool, the color and weave are right on! Very vintage looking. I would recommend ordering one size larger. According to the size charts I wear 2XL. After reading reviews, I ordered a 3XL and it fits perfect! Love this sweater! Great job!!!

Brad - SD, USA
Well Built & Slim (2012-01-11)
Heavy duty cardigan. I bought the olive and it''s more brown than olive to me, but great regardless. I ordered my usual size (M) and it fits me slim, but not tight. A shorter cardigan, but that is the way I like them. I''ll probably order the off-white as well.

Dave - Upstate, NY USA
Cardigan Sweater (2012-01-11)
First rate sweater! Top quality I''m 6'', 200lbs., 44 chest. Ordered the extra large and it is a perfect fit!!! This item was ordered for elk camp in Colorado and deer camp in Texas!

Bob - Texas
30's sweater shawl collar (2012-01-10)
just perfect .might not be as long as an original was but frankly ,one nows that such an item fetches an easy 600$ on ebay .....need i say more !??

segui - US
Wonderful! (2012-01-10)
So happy with this sweater. One question I had before I bought it, was did it have a big seam running up the back of the collar. I am delighted to say that it does not. I wear an XXL wool sweater from LL Bean, but ordered a XXXL (3XL?) and it seems a tiny bit snugger than Bean''s XXL. I did hand wash it in room temprature water with woollite becuase it had some dust marks on it when it arrived that I couldn''t seem to brush off. I got the off white, and now I think I''ll save up and order the green one. It''s awesome.

Matt - Maine
cardigan. (2012-01-04)
Wow.Looks good ,- feels godd ,perfect sweater.
and by the way.Also perfect Service incl.delivery to germany.
You can´t buy better
Thank you WPG Team !!!!!

Schlomacher - DE
[1 2 3]